Like a Hole in the Head

There is nothing like a sobering dose of humility to check you before your ego erupts to mass destruction. It seems that for me, at any time, when my ego may be beginning to creep up and take over, something happens that deflates any sense of importance I may have thought I had. The more I do, the more I realize “I” am not what is important. “I” am not my focus. Ouch! That stings – like a hole in the head.

So often in our lives we make ourselves into gods. We attach an importance to ourselves that we suddenly demand that others respect when we have done little or nothing to earn that respect. And then we wonder why it is lacking. And as we attach, little by little, more and more importance to ourselves we can suddenly find that those we wish to respect us and think us important, are no where to be found because there is no more room for them in the room, or the building, or city, or in our little world that we have created and expect others to live in. And with each passing accomplishment and success, we lose sight of what has given us those victories and suddenly it is the “I” that creeps in and has taken over. The once almighty, one and only God, we have cast aside and put ourselves as graven idols in a place where no other belongs. Ouch! Like a hole in the head.

Day by day the world is becoming more and more selfish and I am growing weary of it. This status quo that has overtaken our minds will soon creep in and over throw our heart, if we are not careful. Cast aside the ego and the “I” and see where it takes you. I am tired of what is accepted and expected. I am bored with the “I” and seek a more transcendent vantage point.

It is not often that we can experience what it means to be a servant – definitely not by choice. Certainly the day of slaves and indentured servants has, in many a sense, long past (though not entirely, lest I be so myopic as to only see what occurs in front of my privileged and naive eyes); but there are ways in which we can find to make ourselves not more important but to reduce ourselves to be lower than those around us. To see everyone else as more important and look for ways in which we can serve with a humble and meek heart.

Meekness: enduring injury with patience and without resentment.

I can say for sure I could use a lot more meekness in my life. It is not the human way. It is against our natural tendency, that is, to be meek. How many of us will endure injury, whether physical or emotional or verbal, with patience. Without resentment. I think it could be possible to practice one, but not both. Not out of our fleshly, carnal motivations. It takes everything, all that one has and then some, perhaps supernatural provision to do such a thing.

I can think of only one reason why so many lash out at those to try to do good. Those who try to make good decisions. Those who choose the right way over the popular way. Those who refuse to step aside and they stand their ground. It is because they see in themselves all that they lack and are, as of yet, incapable or simply apathetic desire to do or be anything outside of themselves. They see a reflection of all that they are not and it stings, kind of like a hole in the head, and so to lash out, to say mean and hurtful things, to mock, to abhor is to speak the thing they see in themselves that they are not.

18 thoughts on “Like a Hole in the Head

  1. I completely agree with the above comment, the internet is with a doubt growing into the most important medium of communication across the globe and its due to sites like this that ideas are spreading so quickly.

  2. Hi. I wanted to drop you a quick note to express my thanks. I’ve been following your blog for a month or so and have picked up a ton of good information as well as enjoyed the way you’ve structured your site.

  3. I just cant stop reading this. Its so cool, so full of information that I just didnt know. Im glad to see that people are actually writing about this issue in such a smart way, showing us all different sides to it. Youre a great blogger. Please keep it up. I cant wait to read whats next.

  4. This is the coolest website and stories that i have ever read…its useful for me as im a lecturer and always motivate my students with these publised stories…thank you …and waiting for plenty more…

Leave a Reply

