Rose Colored Expectation and the Inevitability of Cloudy with a Chance of Disappointment

It’s a long title, I know. But you peeked didn’t you. It got your attention?

I am perplexed by a belief that is, at least in part – probably the part I don’t understand- contrary to what I am experiencing in real life. The idea that we, as Christians, are to expect God to work in our life. To expect great things from him. And so I do. And my rose colored expectation inevitably ends in sour, cloudy and sometimes down right trenchal disappointment.  But it doesn’t end there, When I am not expecting, when I am not looking, when I don’t think much about it at all, I am suprised by what occurs, which in turn turns my cloudy disappointment into rose colored expectation. Its an awful cycle. And I don’t like it one bit!

So then comes the truth: could it be that my expectation is out of sync with where God wants me? With where my heart ought to be? With my focus? What is my rose colored expectation focusing on? And as far as the cloudy disappointment goes, perhaps I am disappointed because it is my want, my will, my desire and it is not God’s. He is allowing those disappointments to come to light so that I might then turn to him to seek where my heart and focus and expectation ought to be.

It’s nice living in a world where we believe that if we love God enough, if we obey what he asks, if we even follow steadfastly after him he will give us what we want. But that isn’t true. It can’t be. Because once we turn to him, all that changes. It becomes less significant.

Rather I think when we do all those things, earnestly, our wants become obsolete and what we want no longer matters. We seek what God wants and he reveals to us where our focus ought to be. He corrects our rosy vision so that we see clearly and plainly and are able to embrace who we truly are in Christ, who he sees us as.

Nobody said this life was going to be easy. Or fair. Or even something we understand. Rarely is it rosy and often full of cloudy disappointments.

One thought on “Rose Colored Expectation and the Inevitability of Cloudy with a Chance of Disappointment

  1. My dad once quoted Garth Brooks to me. “Some of Gods greatest gifts are answered prayers.” I am always finding myself forgetting that little fact. God doesn’t always give us what we want. It is one of those things that can be a little perplexing. Even things that could be really good for us aren’t always what is best for us and so we find ourselves wondering why we can’t have what we want. I had a job interview scheduled last week. It was something that I sought out in hopes that I could help my business. After scheduling the interview I felt horrible, almost sick about it. And I felt like I needed to cancel it. I don’t know why I don’t understand, but for some reason God was telling me not to go. So I didn’t. Another unanswered prayer. My unanswerednprayers in life have led me to the people in my life. Heck if all my prayers were answered I would be living a much different life in a world stuck in high school.

    Sometimes aligning our will with Gods will in difficult. In fact more often than not it is a struggle. Bit like you said no one ever said it would be easy. My mom had a quote hanging in our bathroom for years before she died that said “I never said it would be easy, I only said it would be worth it.”

    Basically what I am getting at is a lot what you said, when things don’t turn out as your rose colored expectations believe they should remember that God has a greater plan for you and maybe that just isn’t part of it.

    I love this post. Thanks for writing it!

Leave a Reply

