Nothing Less

I look up to gaze upon your marvelous universe, vast and infinite, beyond imagination, but I am blinded by the clouds that loom above.

I know the horizon goes beyond what my eye can see as does the length and width of the universe speckled with innumerable stars each one with a name and hung in the sky with care for me.

But oh, how the clouds are thick and dark, keeping me from seeing clearly what I know lies beyond. The sun may give light to see the world around me but the moon reflects the light of a world beyond my own.

Written March 19, 2011

I am so often confronted with the idea of reality versus fantasy. I become confused by the world around me and forget that my reality, the trueness of this life is defined by the One who lives beyond the moon and yet lives right within my very soul. What God has given me is blessing beyond measure and love undeniable.

I find, that, when I have averted my eyes from the prize is when I become disoriented and I wander off the path my feet have been set upon. If I actually stopped to check my road map I would see that I am not where I am supposed to be. It is so easy to become disillusioned by the emptiness that surrounds; but when I stop to get my bearings it is easy to find the path laid out for me.

In recent weeks I have been turned around and confused by the things of this life that don’t matter while trying to live up to an unrealistic expectation I have given myself. I am who God is making me to be and nothing less.

Leave a Reply

