Where I stand

Graduate school is forcing me to declare my beliefs in a public way that I never have before.  I have been a Christian since I was 7 years old and it has defined and shaped who I have become.  Although the people I work with and are friends with know that I am a Christian, I have never been one to “beat someone over the head” with the Bible or to force my beliefs down others throats. Nor will I start. However, I have never really been vocal about it in my work, my writing, until now.

I make no apologies for my beliefs 

It seems that I am finally at a crossroads. One in which I am taking a position and standing firmly but clearly on it. One in which I make no apologies for my beliefs and will not. I will not apologize for the one thing that has saved me, that has guided me, that has provided true and lasting peace and joy. I will not declare what I know to be truth to be anything other than that.

I am not afraid. I do not know what it was that I was ever afraid of in talking about Christianity. But the fear of whatever it was overshadowed my unshakable belief in who God is and what he has done for humanity. No longer will it.

Anything outside of what the Bible teaches, including what certain “Christian” institutions and leaders would teach is simply false.

It is strange to me to find that people don’t believe in the Bible or in God. Of all belief systems out there, it is the Bible and Christianity that holds the most freedom and ease with which to approach and be made right with God. Perhaps it is in its simplicity that people become confused. Anything outside of what the Bible teaches, including what certain “Christian” institutions and leaders would teach is simply false.

God’s word is clear that he loves us unconditionally and would do anything for us. God’s word teaches that only the belief that Jesus Christ died for our inevitable evil nature and then rose from the dead so that as our intermediary between us and God we are made right with him. Is it this simplicity that people reject? Or rather is it man’s interpretation and rules that have caused so many to reject it?

When we get out of the way,  God makes sense.

Leave a Reply

