A plea to the government of the United States of America

Dear Mr. President of the United States, Governor Sandoval, and all Nevada senators and congressmen:

I am an unemployed American.  I work hard and honest, like many Americans. But still, despite my loyalty, hard-working tendencies, and desire to be employed, it still seems that I cannot find a job. I have applied for more than 100 jobs since 2008. As a young man, able-bodied, and willing to work, how is it that I cannot find a job?

In addition, I have tried to learn new skills. I have expressed a desire to learn a new trade, so that by gaining necessary skills in the off season I can transition into a better job, with more consistent pay and not being on unemployment. One day I would like to buy a home, get married, settle down and have a family. Without a well-paying, consistent job, I can’t do any of the other things I desire.

I don’t think that what I am asking is too much. Change we need, but we have not seen any change; at least not in a positive direction. I am not saying you are at fault for the situation we are in, but, you made promises of a better life, and I have yet to personally see any of those promises. Others, like the big banks and the automobile industry have seen the results of your decisions, but as for the average American, it has not impacted me directly. And what good is a promise, if I don’t see any benefits of it?

I may be a simple guy, but I have had plenty of time, barely surviving on unemployment, to consider how I might make a change if given the chance.

I suggest you revisit some of the decisions and choices your predecessors made. In particular, you should consider Franklin D. Roosevelt and his New Deal. In the first 100 days of his presidency he instituted the Civilian Conservation corps. It made an immediate impact and change for the average working American. Things like planting trees, cleaning up the highways and urban communities. A new Presidents “Tree” Army could do wonders for giving people an opportunity to work, teach new skills, and revitalize the economy.

Why not look to the wisdom of the past for ways to make real change with real impact making a difference for Americans and the economy.

Something has to be done. What you have done so far is not enough.

I am asking, as an average unemployed American, do something now. We want to work! We want to feel useful. We want to be better than we are. This would give us the opportunity to work and you to leave a legacy of change.

Sincerely,

Robert, an average unemployed American

White House photo courtesy of vitasamb2001/ freedigitalphotos.net

http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=915

4 thoughts on “A plea to the government of the United States of America

  1. Hi Katy, An interesting way to convey the frustration of unemployment today. I was wondering, though, if Robert was someone you interviewed or a composite person representing unemployment. I like the reference to FDR and the New Deal – because Robert was presenting a possible solution instead of just complaining.

  2. Robert (who is a real person) does present a very good idea. More needs to be done to get able bodied people back to work!

  3. It sounds like the secret to recovery is giving people new skills, do participate fully in a new economy.

    I wonder how you might show us what we’re doing in our own community to give a “new deal” to people who are looking for it.

Leave a Reply

