Surgery – part 2

Yesterday I went in for my pre-op and post-op procedures. I have realized that the less I think about it, the easier it is to process the idea of someone cutting into me while I am unaware and unable to do anything about it, and I have consented to all of it.

I cannot lie, the idea of surgery is scary. Especially now with social media and all our connectedness, the stories of both good and bad experiences are everywhere. Everyone who has shared their story, their experiences with me, have been so wonderful. And I am greatful to know that there is a positive side to all of this.

Today I had my blood work for the surgery and I did my pre-admittance at the hospital. I must say, Saint Mary’s has a really great structure for checking in and processing patients into the system and getting you through in a timely manner so you are not wasting your day waiting. Although, I must say the peeing on command for a urine sample is not easy. Fortunately, I know that my kidneys process fluid within 10 minutes (due to an IVP I had a couple weeks ago). So at least I wasn’t waiting all day.

I have been trying to wrap my brain around the idea of surgery. Watching TV shows you get this distorted idea of what it is and is not. And, everyone is different in terms of their view on surgery.

When I think about the realities, and especially when I went through all the pre-op stuff I need to know before going into it, I begin to consider the “what if’s” and I realized, I simply cannot do that. I have to just accept it and do it. Sort of like a band-aid – it’s best to just rip it off rather than  slowly peeling it off.

In the end I think that the anticipation is going to be worse than reality.

Leave a Reply

