Nearing the End

It has been a week and half since my surgery. Despite the fact that I am feeling much better, generally, I can tell that after I try to push myself to do “normal” activities, I am not. How long does it take to recover? What is to expect? What is the pain going to be like? Will I be able to function normally? What will the side affects be? There are a myriad of questions that run through your brain…sometimes before surgery. In this case, sometimes after. I have never had surgery, nor have I ever been in the hospital before so I had no idea what to ask or what to expect. I did my research, I asked questions of the doctor and staff and other people I know who have had surgery, but, in reality, there is jsut no way to know how your body will react until you have gone through it yourself.

One thing that has been surprising, is a sort of vertigo effect. I will be walking or in this case typing, and start to get his swirl-ly effect. I feel like things are spinning or going sideways. What makes it even stranger, is the fact that I have not taken any pain medication for several days, so I know that is not it.

Also, a strange after effect, I feel like I can’t focus, I can’t remember some easy things, like words or concepts. Its there, somewhere, I know that it is, I just can’t access it in my brain. Its like a watery mess that I can’t wade through clearly or easily.

So, I think a call into my doctor is in order. I don’t think waiting until my follow-up in 3 weeks is going to be okay. My biggest take away from this whole journey has been if you have any questions, speak up. Don’t wait, don’t hesitate. After all, they are the expert and they are there to help you!

2 thoughts on “Nearing the End

  1. Yes go to the doctor! Did your biopsy results come back ok or are they making you wait for the three week follow up? Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling 100 percent yet 😦

Leave a Reply

