The Healthy Woman

Fighting the oh so paper thin model rage is a difficult task, especially when a plus sized model slims down. When young women see on TV, in the magazines, in the music videos and all the fame and glory that goes along with it, it tempts a fate difficult to reject. Being thin is equated with beauty and health. Being thin is considered attractive and desirable. But what happens when thin becomes life threatening? Young girls, pre-puberty are already worrying about their figure, and what they are eating. There is a big difference between being healthy and being thin. There is also a difference between being unhealthy and being heavy.

I am not condemning Crystal Renn for slimming down. I applaud her desire to be healthy. She fights the battle of anorexia and self hatred of her body. She began exercising and eating well, and that is healthy.

I do not fit the the model figure. I never have, and I never will. I am okay with that. I don’t want to be skinny. I want to be healthy. To be healthy, I need to eat whole foods – like fruit and vegetables. Whole grains and meat. The less processed, a simplified foods you can consume, the easier it is for your body to digest and convert to energy. Simple exercises aid in strength, endurance, and flexibility.

I am no expert in diet or exercise. But I know that eating highly processed, artificially flavored foods can not be healthy. Sitting on my couch all day watching TV isn’t healthy either. And the process of changing habits is a difficult task. But, one small step everyday turns into distance over time.

Leave a Reply

