A Communication Exercise

I have been searching for a job since I graduated in December. As I mentioned in a previous blog post, this type of search is new for me. So after applying (now) to more than 100 jobs across the United States, I decided to meet with two people who I felt could give me perspective and advice on what to do next. One was the Director of Development and Alumni Relations and the second was the Director of Graduate Studies for the RSJ.

Being critiqued is a difficult experience, but I asked for it and decided I would take their advice and try it out. Communicating is about being able to write and speak clearly and usually concisely. I was tasked with rewriting my resume and editing it to one page. Doing that, along with the following the other advice they gave me, helped me to focus on what is really important.

5 Tips for Communicating Clearly

  1. Edit – It is important to be able to self edit, but it is also smart to have several other pairs of eyes look at your resume/ cover letters to help you spot any mistakes.
  2. Edit again – Before sending off any piece of communication, stop and take one last look. An imperfection is all the reason an employer needs to move you from the interview pile to the trash can.
  3. Spell Check isn’t always right – if something looks goofy, look it up. That may mean a dictionary, and AP guide, whatever is necessary to ensure that you don’t embarrass yourself or your company.
  4. Big words are rarely best – if you have to look up the meaning to make sure you are using it correctly, then don’t use it. You run the risk of either being misunderstood or putting people off.
  5. Focus – pick the one or two most important things you want to highlight and stick to it. Trying to cram everything into a short amount of space and time will make it jumbled. Keep it clean and simple.
One thought on “A Communication Exercise

  1. Pingback: The Journey of a Job Hunt | Katy Kelly

Leave a Reply

